top of page

A Love Story and a Song - Part 2

Updated: Feb 29, 2020

Now that you know how I met the Lees and the song Larry had written for Marjorie's birthday, let me share an experience I had this week. Call me crazy or call me sane, but one afternoon I had a very distinct impression that Larry was close and would be pleased if I published his love song, "You Will Always Find Me There," especially since Valentine's day was coming up. I wrote the arrangement 20 years ago but since that time have owned many computers. The old software I had used for my music notation is now obsolete and in those days I kept copies of my music on what were called "floppy discs." In this day and age, my children or grandchildren wouldn't know what those were. Nevertheless, I felt the urging to find the music.


On a sidenote, I must mention that I truly believe those who have passed to what I call a "higher dimension" or other life are fully aware of us on earth and that thoughts can be placed in our mind to help us along the way. I have also learned that when I get "promptings" and follow them, something positive always happens.

Back to the subject at hand. I spent considerable time searching through CD's, junk drives, and whatever devices I had used to save my old music, but going back 20 years seemed futile. I even pulled out some old computers I had kept but to no avail. I was frustrated but determined to resurrect the music so I went to the CD recording of "Angels on Tiptoe" and started writing down the words. I was certainly going about this the hard way but because of my "perfect pitch," I knew I could resurrect the music if necessary.


Most people think that "perfect pitch" is the ability to sing in tune. Not so! It is a talent you are born with and not an ability one can even develop through training. However, with training in music theory classes, students can develop what is called "relative pitch." In other words, when given a starting note, a student is taught to relate a note to given pitch. Understand? Now that you might be lost in that thought, let me say that my "perfect pitch" was a crutch I knew I could use if necessary to rewrite the music. When I hear a pitch, I envision that note in my mind on the music staff. I know, it's difficult to visualize that thought process but that is what I experience. I can listen to a record and write down the notes. When I listen to a singer, I know how high or low they are singing. I laugh because I watch shows like "America's Got Talent," "The Voice," or "American Idol," when judges rave about the wide range of the singer. Nine times out of ten, they seem impressed by the power of their voice on a pitch but have no idea what notes they are singing. When a singer goes 1 or even 2 octaves higher, then I appreciate their ability. Sorry, I am getting completely off the subject so let's get back to the music I was trying to find. Sometimes I will say to my husband, "She's singing 3 octaves above middle C. She has a really wide range and I am so impressed!"

Back now to the subject. I went to the recording and started writing down the words from the CD which was a little laborious. However, I knew I could resurrect the music but it certainly would be easier if I had the vocal score as I was pushing to get it submitted to a publisher before Valentine's day. Once I had the words written down, I was hopeful I could find the score and couldn't rest. I was getting frustrated and then the words, "look in the laundry room on the shelf" came to mind. Seriously? I knew I had some music stored in cabinets in that room. I really should always listen to that inner voice when it speaks but I was head- strong and didn't feel the laundry room was the place to find it! Instead, I started searching in my office and it was like looking for a needle in a haystack with drawers and notebooks full of music previously written. I wasn't making any progress, not to mention just wasting time.

Lawrence Lee

Long story short, I finally listened and went to the laundry room. I looked through two shelves of notebooks and didn't find it. Once again, I felt the same urging pushing me to continue my serach. Then I found a cardboard file box with several hundred sheets of printed music inside. In desperation, I said out loud, "Larry, I need your help!" and to my surprise, I found page 2 of the music and really got excited. After looking into that stack of unorganized music, I found another page and then another. I wanted to shout for joy and jump up and down! Before I knew it, I had found all of the pages except for the first one. Clutching those pages, I went back to my office. With the words I had already written down from the CD recording, I was able to complete the rewriting of the song.


Today I received notice from the publisher that "You Will Always Find Me There" by Lawrence Lee was published online. Click this link to view, listen, or to purchase the song: https://www.sheetmusicplus.com/title/21680981


As I bring this entry to a close, I want to express my love and appreciation to the Lees and their family: to son Randy & Laura, Richard & Suzanne, and to daughter, Stacy, for coming to my rescue for photos and details to use in this entry. Daniel Carter, my talented and genius cousin composer who also had a close relationship with Larry and Marjorie said, "I am sure they are smiling and dancing because of this."

The Lee's at a party after they were married.

The photo below was taken at Christmas while the Lees were serving in the Leeds England Mission. The Missionaries went together on the gift. The bird with its wing around the other reminded the missionaries of Larry protecting Marjorie and the love they had for one another!



The Lee's in Leeds, England.

50 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page