top of page

A Fun Way to Teach Note Values

Updated: Jun 28, 2020

There are many ways to teach children note values. Music is mathematical and easy to teach if you have visuals. Visuals stay in our long-term memory but you have to pair the concept being taught with images. Research has shown that 90% of information transferred to our brain is visual.


Click this photo and read my Hubpage entry and feel free to share so others might learn! After you have read the Hubpage, scroll down to review and see how much you remember.


It's very important that students learn and understand note values. COUNTING is critical when learning to read music and play an instrument.


The chart below reviews the different kind of notes and their values as discussed in my Hubpage.


If you want to spark your child's interest in music before starting music lessons, sign up for a music class. When parents join in, children get more excited and you get more bang for your buck!


When our oldest daughter was 3, I took her to the Yamaha School of Music. It was an extremely rewarding experience as parents and children learned together. In group classes like this, everyone was taught the basic fundamentals through rhythm and movement.


A group music class for children & parents

My husband and I raised 4 daughters. They are grown and married with families of their own, but they loved girlish things.


Gary Croxall's lyrics helped me peek into the thoughts of a young boy and learn about things my husband and I never experienced while raising girls.


Lyricist, Gary Croxall said: I have a box in my home marked "Boyhood Treasures." It holds all the special things I saved in my dresser drawer up to the time I left home. Each item is full of memories I'll treasure and is my "kid stuff" forever.


KID STUFF is written in swing style and in 4/4 time. As you listen to the song, try counting the beats in time: 1, 2, 3, 4. This song has a strong sense of 4/4 time.


48 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page